2017 Parliament: Tension mounts on NDC as they lose more seats.

They spoke. You listened and decided by the thumb. Now we bring you the losers and the winners in Wednesday’s parliamentary election.

MADINA – Alhaji Amadu Sorogho of NDC loses

Former MP for Salaga, Alhaji Boniface Abubakar Saddique of the NPP polled 41,412 votes to take the seat from Alhaji Amadu Sorogho loses 32,480 of the NDC.

AKWATIA – Baba Jamal of NDC loses Deputy Minister of Employment and Labour Relation, Baba Jamal Ahmed who entered parliament for the first time in 2012 lost the seat to New Patriotic Party’s Mercy Adu-Gyamfi who polled 21,436. Baba Jamal secured 16, 925

TEMA EAST – Titus Glover of NPP retained

Titus Glover of the NPP polled 31,355 to retain the seat. NDC’s Kempes Ofosuware secured 27,297 votes EFIA  – Joseph Cudjoe of NPP retained The New Patriotic Party’s Joseph Cudjoe retained the seat with 20,315 as against his main contender, Michael Otoo of the National Democratic Congress who polled 11,995. Isaac Baidoo of the Convention People’s party had 308. SEKONDI  – Andrew Kofi Egyapa Mercer of NPP wins Andrew Kofi Egyapa Mercer of the New Patriotic Party beat stiff competition from the National Democratic Congress’ Emmanuel Assafua with 16,839 and 11, 075 respectively. Daniel Essuman of the Progressive People’s Party secured 305 votes while Peter Arthur of the Convention People’s Party had 97 votes.

ABUAKWA NORTH – Gifty Twum Ampofo of the NPP retained

Gifty Twum Ampofo [Left] Victor Smith of the National Democratic Congress lost with 11,740 to the Gifty Twum-Ampofo of the New Patriotic Party, who recently won the by-election in the constituency following the death of JB Danquah Adu. She polled 18,098.

EJURA SEKYEDUMASE – Mohammed Salisu Bamba

The incumbent Mohammed Salisu Bamba retained the seat for the National Democratic Congress with 23,277 votes. The New Patriotic Party’s Mohammed Salifu secured 21,795 votes while Abdalai Mahaman had 132 votes. PNC’s Samuel Laari secured 83 votes.

BANDA – Ahmed Ibrahim of the NDC retained

National Democratic COngress’ Ahmed Ibrahim retained the seat with 6,137. He beat Joe Danquah of the NPP who polled 5,600.

LEDZEKUKU-  Benita Sena Okity of NDC loses

The incumbent, Benita Sena Okiti of the NDC lost the seat to Dr Bernard Okoe Boye of the NPP who secured 45,259 as against 43, 090.

EFFUTU – Alex Afenyo Markin of NPP retained 

NPP’s Afenyo Marking secured 21,403 to retain the seat. Eric Don Arthur of the NDC polled 11, 748.



Keep refreshing for more


You may also like...

Search Ghana Class

Featured Ghana Video